THA Members Elect Mark Medley as Chairman, Keith Goodwin will Serve as Chair-Elect

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – The membership of the Tennessee Hospital Association (THA) has elected its board of directors for 2015. Election and installation of the new board took place at the Association’s Annual Meeting, held today at Gaylord Opryland Resort in Nashville.

Mark Medley, senior vice president and president, operations, Capella Healthcare, Franklin, was installed as chairman, withKeith Goodwin, president and chief executive officer, East Tennessee Children’s Hospital, Knoxville, serving as chairman-elect of the board. Goodwin will become chairman during the 2015 Annual Meeting in Nashville.

Reginald Coopwood, M.D., president and CEO, Regional One Health, Memphis, completed his term as board chair and now becomes immediate past chairman. He also will serve as speaker of the House of Delegates in 2015.

Medley is responsible for the operations of 14 acute care and affiliated entities throughout the United States. Prior to joining Capella in 2008, he served as a hospital CEO and division CFO at LifePoint Hospitals, Inc., Franklin. Medley began his career at HCA.

Medley previously served as chairman of the THA Council on Government Affairs and received the THA Small or Rural Hospital Leadership Award in 2013 in recognition of his service. In addition, he has served on boards of directors for THA Solutions Group and the Tennessee Rural Partnership.

A fellow in the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE), Medley has served on the advisory council to Tennessee’s ACHE regent. In addition, he previously served on the board of directors for Ridley Barron, Inc., an organization nationally known for its efforts to improve patient safety and inspire positive change.

Medley is a graduate of Tennessee Technological University, Cookeville.

Goodwin has been president and CEO at East Tennessee Children’s Hospital since 2007. Prior to this position, he spent more than 28 years at the Nationwide Children’s Hospital in Columbus, Ohio, serving in various positions. He also served as CEO at the Children’s Hospital of Austin in Texas for three years and president of the Doctors Hospital in Columbus.

In addition to being a member of the boards of THA, Children’s Hospital Alliance of Tennessee and Hospital Alliance of Tennessee, he serves on the boards of the East Tennessee Foundation, Metropolitan Drug Commission and Knox County Imagination Library. He also has held adjunct faculty positions in hospital administration at Ohio State University and the University of Minnesota.

Goodwin received a bachelor’s degree in health education at Ohio State University and a master’s degree in business administration at Capital University in Columbus.

Other members of the THA board of directors for 2015 include:

  • David Archer, CEO, Memphis market, Saint Francis Hospital, Memphis
  • Bobby Arnold, president and CEO, West Tennessee Healthcare, Jackson
  • Scott Bowman, administrator, Sweetwater Hospital Association
  • Christine Bradley, assistant vice chancellor, government relations, Vanderbilt University Hospitals, Nashville
  • Stephen Corbeil, president, HCA TriStar Health System, Brentwood
  • Marvin Eichorn, executive vice president and chief operating officer (COO), Mountain States Health Alliance, Johnson City
  • Thomas Gee, CEO, Henry County Medical Center, Paris
  • Robert Gordon, retired executive vice president and chief administrative officer, Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation, Memphis
  • Don Heinemann, CEO, Blount Memorial Hospital, Maryville
  • James Hobson, president and CEO, CHI Memorial, Chattanooga
  • Bart Hove, interim president and CEO, Wellmont Health System, Kingsport
  • Charles Howorth, executive director, Tennessee Business Roundtable, Nashville
  • Paul Korth, CEO and CFO, Cookeville Regional Medical Center
  • Joseph Landsman, president and CEO, University of Tennessee Medical Center, Knoxville
  • Jason Little, president and CEO, Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation, Memphis
  • Thomas Ozburn, CEO, TriStar Southern Hills Medical Center, Nashville
  • David Posch, CEO, Vanderbilt University Hospitals, Nashville
  • Scott Raplee, president, Central Group, LifePoint Hospitals, Inc., Brentwood
  • Mike Schatzlein, M.D., president and CEO, Saint Thomas Health, Nashville
  • Morris Seligman, M.D., executive vice president and CMO, Mountain States Health Alliance, Johnson City
  • Anthony Spezia, president and CEO, Covenant Health, Knoxville
  • Kevin Spiegel, president and CEO, Erlanger Health System, Chattanooga
  • Ted Stubblefield, board member, NorthCrest Medical Center, Springfield
  • Scott Tongate, CEO, Lauderdale Community Hospital, Ripley
  • Alan Watson, CEO, Maury Regional Healthcare System, Columbia
  • Donald Webb, CEO, Williamson Medical Center, Franklin
  • Chuck Whitfield, president and CEO, Laughlin Memorial Hospital, Greeneville
  • Jeffrey Woodside, M.D., board member, Hardin Medical Center, Savannah

THA President and CEO Craig Becker also serves as secretary and an ex-officio member of the board of directors.

The Tennessee Hospital Association (THA) was founded in 1938 and serves as an advocate for hospitals, health systems and other healthcare organizations across the state. The initiatives of THA support the efforts of Tennessee’s hospitals to ensure high quality care for the patients and communities they serve.