THA members elect Keith Goodwin as chairman | Alan Watson will serve as chair-elect

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – The membership of the Tennessee Hospital Association (THA) has elected its board of directors for 2016. Election and installation of the new board took place at the Association’s Annual Meeting, held today at Gaylord Opryland Resort in Nashville.

Keith Goodwin, president and chief executive officer (CEO), East Tennessee Children’s Hospital, Knoxville, was installed as chairman.

Goodwin has been president and CEO at East Tennessee Children’s Hospital since 2007. Prior to this position, he spent more than 28 years at the Nationwide Children’s Hospital in Columbus, Ohio, serving in various positions. He also served as CEO at the Children’s Hospital of Austin in Texas for three years and president of the Doctors Hospital in Columbus.

In addition to being a member of the boards of THA, Children’s Hospital Alliance of Tennessee and Hospital Alliance of Tennessee, he serves on the boards of the East Tennessee Foundation, Metropolitan Drug Commission and Knox County Imagination Library. He also has held adjunct faculty positions in hospital administration at Ohio State University and the University of Minnesota.

Goodwin received a bachelor’s degree in health education at Ohio State University and a master’s degree in business administration at Capital University in Columbus.

Alan Watson, CEO, Maury Regional Healthcare System, Columbia, will serve as chairman-elect of the board. He will become chairman during the 2016 Annual Meeting in Nashville.

Watson has 33 years of healthcare experience, including 15 years of clinical work as a nuclear medicine technologist. In addition to serving as CEO at Maury Regional Healthcare System, he has served as CEO at St. Mary’s Medical Centers of Campbell and Scott counties and Baptist Hospital West in the Knoxville area, and CEO at Bradley Memorial Hospital, Cleveland.

Watson is a fellow in the American College of Healthcare Executives, and a board member of THA and Hospital Alliance of Tennessee.

He received a bachelor’s degree in nuclear medicine technology at the University of Alabama-Birmingham and a master’s degree in community health administration at California College for Health Sciences.

Reginald Coopwood, M.D., president and CEO, Regional One Health, Memphis, will continue as immediate past chairman in 2016. He also will serve as the speaker of the House of Delegates.

Other members of the THA board of directors for 2016 include:

  • David Archer, CEO, Memphis market, Saint Francis Hospital, Memphis  
    • Bobby Arnold, president and CEO, West Tennessee Healthcare, Jackson
    • Scott Bowman, administrator, Sweetwater Hospital Association
    • Stephen Corbeil, president, HCA TriStar Health System, Brentwood
    • Marvin Eichorn, executive vice president and chief operating officer (COO), Mountain States Health Alliance, Johnson City
    • Thomas Gee, CEO, Henry County Medical Center, Paris
    • Joy Golden, CEO, Lakeside Behavioral Health System, Memphis
  • Robert Gordon, retired executive vice president and chief administrative officer, Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation, Memphis 
  • Don Heinemann, CEO, Blount Memorial Hospital, Maryville
    • Bart Hove, president and CEO, Wellmont Health System, Kingsport
    • Charles Howorth, executive director, Tennessee Business Roundtable, Nashville
    • Paul Korth, CEO and CFO, Cookeville Regional Medical Center
    • Joseph Landsman, president and CEO, University of Tennessee Medical Center, Knoxville
    • Nick Lewis, CEO, Hardin Medical Center, Savannah
    • Jason Little, president and CEO, Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation, Memphis
  • David Maness, D.O., University of Tennessee Health Science Center, Memphis 
    • Tim McGill, CEO, Saint Thomas River Park Hospital, McMinnville
    • Rick Napper, interim CEO, CHI Memorial, Chattanooga
    • Thomas Ozburn, CEO, TriStar Southern Hills Medical Center, Nashville
    • Wright Pinson, M.D., deputy vice chancellor-health affairs, Vanderbilt University Hospitals, Nashville
    • Scott Raplee, president, Central Group, LifePoint Hospitals, Inc., Brentwood
    • Mike Schatzlein, M.D., senior vice president and group ministry operating executive, Ascension, Nashville
    • Morris Seligman, M.D., executive vice president and chief medical officer (CMO), Mountain States Health Alliance, Johnson City
  • Anthony Spezia, president and CEO, Covenant Health, Knoxville  
  • Kevin Spiegel, president and CEO, Erlanger Health System, Chattanooga
  • Ted Stubblefield, board member, NorthCrest Medical Center, Springfield
  • Donald Webb, CEO, Williamson Medical Center, Franklin
  • Jeffrey Woodside, M.D., board member, Hardin Medical Center, Savannah

THA President and CEO Craig Becker also serves as secretary and an ex-officio member of the board of directors.

The Tennessee Hospital Association was founded in 1938 and serves as an advocate for hospitals, health systems and other healthcare organizations across the state. The initiatives of THA support the efforts of Tennessee’s hospitals to ensure high quality care for the patients and communities they serve.