CMS Partnership for Patients Director Celebrates Tennessee Quality Improvements

THA recently hosted a meeting at Regional One Health in Memphis where association staff and several hospital leaders shared the patient safety accomplishments achieved in THA’s Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Partnership for Patients Hospital Engagement Network (HEN) over the past five years.

Dennis Wagner, director of the Quality Improvement and Innovation Group at CMS, which includes the CMS Partnership for Patients programs for hospitals, as well as the Practice Transformation Network for physicians, attended the meeting alongside THA President and CEO Craig Becker. Wagner was impressed by improvements in reducing hospital-acquired conditions and readmissions reduction efforts and the spirit of collaboration among Tennessee hospitals.

Hospital leaders signed a commitment banner in support of continuing THA’s aim of zero preventable harm and renewed focus toward the Partnership for Patients goals to reduce complications and readmissions. Special thanks to the hospital leaders who shared their hospital’s successes:

  • Regional One Health: Reginald Coopwood, M.D., president and chief executive officer; Susan Cooper, chief integration officer; and Shannon Cutliff, quality improvement specialist
  • Baptist Memorial Health Care: Susan Ferguson, system chief nursing officer; Dana Dye, chief executive officer, and Michelle Smith, chief nursing officer, both at Baptist Memorial Hospital-Memphis; and Henry Sullivant, M.D., chief medical officer, Select Health Alliance
  • Henry County: Tom Gee, chief executive officer
  • West Tennessee Healthcare/Jackson-Madison County General Hospital: David Roberts, chief medical officer
  • Maury Regional Medical Center: Chris Edwards, M.D., chief medical officer
  • Vanderbilt University Medical Center: Jenny Slayton, executive director for quality improvement

THA will continue quality efforts in Tennessee through the HIIN.

For additional information, contact Chris Clarke at THA, 615-401-7439.

Pictured:  Leaders Michelle Smith (foreground), chief nursing officer, Baptist Memorial Hospital-Memphis, and Jenny Slayton, executive director for quality improvement, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, sign the THA banner in support of zero preventable harm.