General Assembly Convenes

The 111th Tennessee General Assembly convened in Nashville and went to work electing respective leadership of its two chambers.

In the Senate, members voted to re-elect Lt. Gov. Randy McNally (R-Oak Ridge) as Speaker of the Senate for a second term. The House, as expected, elected Rep. Glen Casada (R-Franklin) as its new Speaker. Speaker Casada is the first new speaker of the House in eight years and takes over from former Speaker Beth Harwell (R-Nashville), who retired in 2018 to run for governor.

On Wednesday, legislators met in a joint session to re-elect Comptroller Justin Wilson and State Treasurer David Lillard to their respective constitutional offices. Secretary of State Tre Hargett, the state’s third constitutional officer, was not up for re-election this year.

Legislators recessed on Thursday until Friday, Jan. 18, when they will return for the inauguration of Gov.-elect Bill Lee (R-Franklin), which takes place the following day.

Looking ahead, the House will return to Nashville on Jan. 23, with the Senate returning the following week on Jan. 28. It is expected that both chambers will begin operating on their regular schedules during the week of Jan. 28. THA will include legislative calendars in the Legislative Bulletin going forward, although no schedules currently are available.

The bill filing deadline has not yet been confirmed, but is expected to be set for some time in the first week of February.

For more information, contact Joe Burchfield at THA, 615-401-7472.