Small and Rural

There are 65 acute-care small and rural hospitals, including 15 certified critical access hospitals (CAHs) in THA’s Small and Rural Constituency Section. THA is responsible for developing rural programs, initiatives and other support services for Tennessee’s small and rural hospitals to better improve their clinical, financial and operational performance.

THA’s constituency section on rural health also identifies healthcare policy issues that affect small and rural hospitals, develops educational programs and networking opportunities, legislative and regulatory information, seeks grant funding and other financial opportunities, and serves as liaison to the Rural Health Association of Tennessee, Tennessee Department of Health, professional boards and national organizations, such as the National Rural Health Association, American Hospital Association and Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.

THA Small or Rural Hospital Constituency Section Executive Committee

The THA Small or Rural Hospital Constituency Section assists the THA Board of Directors in addressing issues impacting the delivery of quality healthcare services by rural and small hospitals, and advocating for appropriate solutions to those issues. The composition of this committee is structured in accordance with the Small & Rural Hospital Constituency Section bylaws.


Name Position Facility City
Ruby Kirby Administrator/CEO West Tennessee Healthcare Bolivar Hospital and Camden Hospital Bolivar
Scott Williams Chief Executive Officer & CEO Tennova Healthcare – Newport Medical Center Newport