Mountain States Health Alliance’s Marvin Eichorn to Serve as THA Board Chair

The Tennessee Hospital Association (THA) membership elected its board of directors for 2018 at its Annual Meeting in Nashville.

Marvin Eichorn will serve as board chair. Eichorn is the executive vice president, chief operating officer and corporate treasurer of Mountain States Health Alliance (MSHA) in Johnson City. Wright Pinson, M.D., was installed as chair-elect, and will assume the board chair role in 2019. Pinson is the CEO of Vanderbilt Health System, Nashville.

Marvin Eichorn brings more than 30 years of experience to THA. He joined the MSHA team in 1998 as senior vice president of regional operations. He previously was employed by Covenant Health/Fort Sanders Health System in Knoxville in various positions over a 14-year period. He is a certified public accountant and an active member of several healthcare and finance organizations.

Dr. Pinson helped develop and organize the Vanderbilt Health Affiliated Network, and oversees a number of joint ventures as CEO. He also served as director of the Vanderbilt Transplant Center for nearly a decade, overseeing 6,500 transplants. Before coming to Vanderbilt University, Pinson initiated the first liver transplantation program in both the Pacific Northwest and Veterans Administration system.

“We are extremely pleased that Marvin will be our 2018 board chair,” Craig Becker, president and CEO of THA, said. “He brings a wealth of experience and knowledge to the association.

“Our membership benefitted tremendously from outgoing chairman Alan Watson’s leadership, insights and counsel, and he will continue to serve as an at-large member.”

Other members of the 2018 board of directors include:

  • Alan Watson, CEO, Maury Regional Healthcare System, Columbia
  • Scott Bowman, administrator, Sweetwater Hospital Association
  • Reginald Coopwood, M.D., president and CEO, Regional One Health, Memphis
  • Randy Davis, president and CEO, NorthCrest Medical Center, Springfield
  • Christopher Edwards, M.D., system chief medical officer, Maury Regional Healthcare System, Columbia
  • Joy Golden, CEO, Lakeside Behavioral Health System, Memphis
  • Keith Goodwin, president and CEO, East Tennessee Children’s Hospital, Knoxville
  • Marilyn Gray, board chair, Cookeville Regional Medical Center
  • Audrey Gregory, Ph.D, Memphis market CEO, Saint Francis Hospital, Memphis
  • Don Heinemann, CEO, Blount Memorial Hospital, Maryville
  • Bart Hove, president and CEO, Wellmont Health System, Kingsport
  • Paul Korth, CEO, Cookeville Regional Medical Center
  • Joseph Landsman, president and CEO, University of Tennessee Medical Center, Knoxville
  • Nicholas Lewis, CEO, Hardin Medical Center, Savannah
  • Jason Little, president and CEO, Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation, Memphis
  • Jamie Parsons, vice president and chief human resources officer, Mountain States Health Alliance, Johnson City
  • Heather Rohan, president and CEO, HCA/TriStar Health System, Brentwood
  • James Ross, president and CEO, West Tennessee Healthcare, Jackson
  • Larry Schumacher, CEO, CHI Memorial, Chattanooga
  • Phil Shannon, board member, Regional One Health, Memphis
  • Cherie Sibley, chief operating officer, Central Group, LifePoint Health, Inc., Brentwood
  • Kevin Spiegel, president and CEO, Erlanger Health System, Chattanooga
  • Karen Springer, CEO, Saint Thomas Health, Nashville
  • Michael Ugwueke, president and CEO, Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare, Memphis
  • James VanderSteeg, president and CEO, Covenant Health, Knoxville
  • Donald Webb, CEO, Williamson Medical Center, Franklin

Becker also serves as secretary and a member of the board of directors.

About THA: The Tennessee Hospital Association was founded in 1938 and serves as an advocate for hospitals, health systems and other healthcare organizations across the state. The initiatives of THA support the efforts of Tennessee’s hospitals to ensure high quality care for the patients and communities they serve.

# # #