Vanderbilt Health System’s Wright Pinson to Serve as THA Board Chair

At its 80th Annual Meeting, the Tennessee Hospital Association (THA) membership elected its 2019 board of directors. Wright Pinson, M.D., MBA, FACS, who is chief executive officer of Vanderbilt Health System in Nashville, will serve as chairman of the board. James Ross, AEMT, BSN, MSHA, president and CEO of West Tennessee Healthcare in Jackson, will serve as chair-elect. Pinson follows Marvin Eichorn, executive vice president and chief operating officer of Ballad Health in Johnson City, who served as THA chairman last year.

THA President and CEO Craig Becker said, “Dr. Pinson brings a wealth of hospital and healthcare experience as our new board chair. I am excited to work with him over the next year as we plan and implement various strategies that will benefit hospitals and the millions of Tennesseans they serve.”

About Wright Pinson
Under Pinson’s leadership, Vanderbilt University Medical Center’s clinical activities have grown more than 50 percent. Beginning in 2011, he helped develop and organize the Vanderbilt Health Affiliated Network and is responsible for the oversight of a number of joint ventures. Before coming to Vanderbilt University in 1990, Pinson initiated the first liver transplantation program in the Pacific Northwest and for the Veterans Administration system.

Pinson also is active in research and education, and is a professor in the Owen Graduate School of Business. As a clinical and laboratory investigator, his work has resulted in 350 publications, numerous grants and awards. He is co-founder of the master of management in healthcare program at Vanderbilt University’s Owen School of Management. He is board-certified in both surgery and critical care.

About James Ross
Throughout Ross’s 33-year career at West Tennessee Healthcare, he has held various positions including emergency medical technician, surgical intensive care registered nurse, critical care unit director, executive director of physician services and chief operating officer.

He also serves on the Madison County Board of Health, and is a member of the American Nurses Association and American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE). In 2014, Governor Bill Haslam appointed Ross to the Tennessee Emergency Medical Services Board of Directors.

Other members of the 2019 board of directors include:

  • Tim Adams CEO | Saint Thomas Health
  • Rogers Anderson Board of Trustees | Williamson Medical Center
  • Jeff Blankenship Vice-President and CFO | West Tennessee Healthcare
  • Charlotte Burns Senior Vice President, Service Lines/Network Development | HCA/TriStar Health System
  • Reginald Coopwood, M.D. President and CEO | Regional One Health
  • Randy Davis President and CEO | NorthCrest Medical Center
  • Christopher Edwards, M.D. System Chief Medical Officer | Maury Regional Healthcare System
  • Marvin Eichorn Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer | Ballad Health
  • Keith Goodwin President and CEO | East Tennessee Children’s Hospital
  • Audrey Gregory, Ph.D. Memphis Market CEO | Tenet Healthcare Corporation | Saint Francis Hospital
  • Don Heinemann CEO | Blount Memorial Hospital
  • Christopher T. Holmes President and CEO | FirstBank Nashville
  • Paul Korth CEO | Cookeville Regional Medical Center
  • Joseph Landsman President and CEO | University of Tennessee Medical Center
  • Nicholas Lewis CEO | Hardin Medical Center
  • Jason Little President and CEO | Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation
  • Scott Peterson CEO | HealthSouth Rehabilitation Hospital of Franklin
  • Heather Rohan President and CEO | HCA/TriStar Health System
  • Larry Schumacher Senior Vice President, Divisional Operations/SE Catholic Health Initiatives | CHI Memorial
  • Phil Shannon Board Member | Regional One Health
  • Cherie Sibley Chief Operating Officer – Central Group | LifePoint Health, Inc.
  • Kevin Spiegel President and CEO | Erlanger Health System
  • Michael Ugwueke President and CEO | Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare
  • James VanderSteeg President and CEO | Covenant Health
  • Alan Watson Chief Executive Officer | Maury Regional Healthcare System
  • Donald Webb CEO | Williamson Medical Center
  • Jeffrey Woods Division President | Acadia Healthcare

Becker also serves as secretary and a member of the Board of Directors.

About THA: The Tennessee Hospital Association was founded in 1938 and serves as an advocate for hospitals, health systems and other healthcare organizations across the state. The initiatives of THA support the efforts of Tennessee’s hospitals to ensure high quality care for the patients and communities they serve.

# # #